Red Queen Review

image

Summary from Goodreads.

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart … 

My Review

Five out of Five Stars

“Rise, red as the dawn.”

I was a bit scared to start Red Queen because there is so much hype around it I was worried I wouldn’t like it so I keep putting it off until now and I must say that I am very glad I read it because it was Amazing. This book took me by surprised and I was sucked into it and I managed to read it in a day and a half which I haven’t done with a book in so long. I loved the whole concept of the story and the twists and turns that followed it. I must say that Victoria Aveyard is an exceptional writer. I really liked most of the characters and I was transported into the story to stand beside Mare. She is an great main character and I was so absorbed in the story I felt everything she felt. Her happiness, her sadness, her worries and her feelings that fleeted between Maven and Cal. I changed my mind a few times on who I shipped with Mare but I truely ship Mare and Cal. I think Victoria Aveyard did a great job writing the villians because it made you despise them. All the characters each played there own part and I enjoyed reading about how they slotted into the story. I dont want to say much incase I spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it. I am happy to say that I am a part of The Scarlet Guard. Yes they did things they shouldn’t however because they were influenced by a certain someone, they did things that I think they regret. I can totally see there cause, they want to make a better life for themselves and the Reds. I think they just need to be careful about how they go about it. Another thing I really loved was the powers that were involved not that the Silvers used them for good. Overall this was an excellent read and I can not wait to get my hands on Glass Sword and Cruel Crown (which is two short stories). I must say this has been my favourite read for a while and I think it is going to stay that way. I have also found a new favourite author to add to my ever growing list. 

Posted from WordPress

6 thoughts on “Red Queen Review

  1. Pingback: The Love Tag

Leave a Reply

