Interview with David Estes, author of Strings.

image

So I was lucky enough for David Estes to answer some interview questions about his new novel Strings, which I loved and my review can be found by clicking —> Strings Review 

So onto the interview.

1. What inspired the book?

My new YA SciFi Fairytale Retelling, STRINGS, was inspired by the classic story of Pinocchio we all know and love. The thing I love most about the Pinocchio story is how complex the puppet’s struggles are. He has to deal with truth-telling, temptation and the concept of whether he’s real or not. These are real and complex challenges that both teens and adults face every day, which makes it the perfect platform to build a YA novel on.

2. Who is your favourite character in the book?
Hard question! Many of my early readers love Fig (playing the role of Jiminy Cricket), because he’s a funny AI with attitude, who helps the main character, Pia (playing the role of Pinocchio), along the way. However, my favorite character is Pia, because of her heart and determination in unravelling the mystery around her situation while always being willing to sacrifice herself to protect her father.

3. What character do you think readers will like the most?
I think readers will love Marco, who is Pia’s love interest in the story. He’s far from perfect, and definitely has a dark side, which I think most people will be able to relate to.

4. If you could be a character from your book who would you be?
Ha! This one is SO hard because I put my characters through hell. Probably Fig. Even though he’s an AI, he gets to FLY.

5. Who influenced you to be a writer?

My wife, Adele, which is who I’ve dedicated this book to, as well as several of my other novels. She is truly the ultimate cutter of strings, and she taught me how to spread my wings and fly. If not for her, I wouldn’t be a fulltime writer today, and would instead be stuck in a cubicle somewhere in Businessland, which is decidedly less fun than Disneyland ☺

6. What was the first book you can remember reading?
Oh geez, I’m not sure. My mom read us so many books growing up, but I can’t remember which one I was able to read first on my own. I have fond memories of devouring the Hardy Boys mysteries, as well as reading the covers right off my Lord of the Rings boxed set.

7. What is your favourite thing about being a writer?
Having a positive impact on people’s lives. I get a ton of messages from awesome readers who tell me how much my books meant to them, either because they were struggling with something and needed an escape, or because they could relate to one of my characters or plotlines. This means THE WORLD to me, and keeps me inspired to keep creating unique and creative stories, characters, and worlds!

8. Do you have a favourite thing to do when you are writing?
Yes! I like to drink coffee and write in bed wearing my pajamas. That’s my favorite. However, my second favorite is writing at the beach or at the pool. I live in Hawaii, so I have to take advantage of the beautiful weather! Plus, if I need a break, I can go for a swim!

9. What advice would you give to aspiring authors?
I have so much advice for aspiring authors that I started an “Advice” column on my blog (davidestesbooks.blogspot.com), so that’s a good place to look for answers to FAQs. However, the biggest advice I would give is to write every single day because it’s what you love to do. When you’re starting out, you shouldn’t be thinking about book sales, or querying agents, or finding a publisher. You should be thinking about writing, first and foremost. Deal with the rest later, once you have a few really polished manuscripts you can be proud of. Even then, don’t stop writing! I rarely take a day off, and it’s allowed me to write and publish 24 novels (two million words!) in just over five years, an accomplishment I still can’t believe I’ve achieved. Never give up, you have a story to tell!

So they you have it. I hope you enjoyed reading the anwers as much as I did.

Posted from WordPress

2 thoughts on “Interview with David Estes, author of Strings.

Leave a Reply

