A Chosen Life Review

image

A Chosen Life by K.A Parkinson

Summary from goodreads
When Macy was chosen to join an elite group of children responsible for protecting ignorant mankind from the monsters of the Dark, she understood there isn’t time for speed bumps, and the arrival of the Ninth Chosen ten years late is one big bump. The Ninth is to one day lead all the Chosen in a final battle between Light and Dark forces, but the legendary warrior turns out to be Tolen Parks, a clueless and reclusive seventeen year-old whom Macy fears will not be their captain but instead their downfall. 
In an action-packed entertainer, Tolen and Macy are swept down a dangerous path that tests everything that Macy is, and brings out everything that Tolen can be, as they discover the power of choice, true friendship, and the incredible influence a single person can have on the world.

My Review.

3 out of 5 Stars

I really wanted to enjoy this more than what I did. I found that I couldn’t really connect with the characters. I did love the gift elements and the things Macy, Tolen and the others could do. But I found that I was forcing myself to read and it took away from the story. However I hope that I will pick it up again in the future and that I will enjoy it even more. I don’t want to take away from the writing style because it was good and was on the way to being a good book, I just personally lost interest.

Thanks for reading.

Disclaimer: I was sent a ecopy for review thanks to YA Bookbound Tour.

2 thoughts on “A Chosen Life Review

Leave a comment