The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge Review

image

Summary from Goodreads

Winner of the Costa Book of the Year 2015, The Lie Tree is a dark and powerful novel from universally acclaimed author, Frances Hardinge. It was not enough. All knowledge- any knowledge – called to Faith, and there was a delicious, poisonous pleasure in stealing it unseen. Faith has a thirst for science and secrets that the rigid confines of her class cannot suppress. And so it is that she discovers her disgraced father’s journals, filled with the scribbled notes and theories of a man driven close to madness. Tales of a strange tree which, when told a lie, will uncover a truth: the greater the lie, the greater the truth revealed to the liar. Faith’s search for the tree leads her into great danger – for where lies seduce, truths shatter … 

My Review

5 out of 5 stars

Can I just start of by saying that I am totally in love with this cover. It’s is absolutely stunning. Don’t you agree??
So to the book. Wow this book blew me away, it was so intriguing and had me captivated to the point where I couldn’t put it down because I just had to find out what happened next. The writing in this book was top class and I can totally understand how this book won an award.
The Lie Tree centres on Faith as the main character. Her family have moved to a place called Vane but it’s not all as it seems. When her father is found dead Faith knows it wasn’t suicide and begins investigating what happened to her Father. This brings a lot of twists and turns throughout the story and just when you think you know who done it, it changes and suddenly your aren’t sure. I must say that when you found out what happened to her Father the people involved weren’t the ones I originally thought had done it.
Faith is a wonderful character and there were times I couldn’t help but feel sorry for her. Because of society at the time of the 19th century, it is deemed in proper for girls and women to be clever and I personally think that all Faith wanted to do was to make her parents proud, but she wasn’t allowed to and when ever she said something clever she would received looks from everyone around her as if she was an alien. I loved Faith’s determination throughout the book and that no matter what happened she never gave up in finding out what had happened to her Father. She was a very likeable character who you could easily connect with and I felt as though I was there helping her with her mystery.
I want to mention Howard who is Faith’s younger brother. Although he doesn’t play a huge part in the story, the parts that we did learn about him made my heart go out to him. He is left handed and because at that time it was wrong to be left handed Howard was made to wear a jacket with the left arm sown into the pocket so that he was forced to used his right hand. I felt so sorry for him.
Just to end this was an amazing book and I would recommend this to everybody. Even if it’s not your usual genre you should try it because it is a great read and I can’t wait to read more by Frances Hardinge.

Leave a Reply

