Warlock Holmes by G.S. Denning

image

Summary from Goodreads

Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius who uses the gift of deduction and reason to solve the most vexing of crimes.

Warlock Holmes, however, is an idiot. A good man, perhaps; a font of arcane power, certainly. But he’s brilliantly dim. Frankly, he couldn’t deduce his way out of a paper bag. The only thing he has really got going for him are the might of a thousand demons and his stalwart flatmate. Thankfully, Dr. Watson is always there to aid him through the treacherous shoals of Victorian propriety… and save him from a gruesome death every now and again.

An imaginative, irreverent and addictive reimagining of the world’s favourite detective,Warlock Holmes retains the charm, tone and feel of the original stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle while finally giving the flat at 221b Baker Street what it’s been missing for all these years: an alchemy table.

Reimagining six stories, this riotous mash-up is a glorious new take on the ever-popular Sherlock Holmes myth, featuring the vampire Inspector Vladislav Lestrade, the ogre Inspector Torg Grogsson, and Dr. Watson, the true detective at 221b. And Sherlock. A warlock.

My Review

5 out of 5 Stars

Disclaimer : I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

When I was asked by the publisher Titan books, if I would like to review this book I simply couldn’t refuse. I am a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes and I was interested to see what twist G.S Denning could put on such an ironic character. The cover is beautiful and draws you into read the book. Also whilst reading I was surprised to find stunning illustrations that added an extra dimension to my reading experience.
I loved John Watson in this he was a great character and it was nice to see that he had the brains and was analysising the crime scenes and solving the cases along side Warlock Holmes. Watson wad such a strong character and I enjoyed reading how his relationship with Holmes progressed through out the story.
Warlock Holmes was a brilliantly encentric character that had me laughing several times through out the story. I enjoyed the magic element to Holmes and it added more to the story. Holmes is a very likeable character who sometimes comes out with things that just make you laugh.
There was a nice flow through out the story and it was hard to put down. I really enjoyed the supernatural elements and characters such as Vladislav Lestrade, the vampire and Torg Grogsson, the ogre. These characters added a great dimension to the story and twists to Watson and Holmes ‘s cases. The ending was left at a cliffhanger that left you wanting more.
G.S Denning is a genius of a writer and whose writing draws you in and doesn’t let you go. I am looking forward to reading his future work especially “Warlock Holmes – The Battle of Baskerville Hall” I am excited to read this but also a bit sad because I have to wait until May 2017. ( I need this book now)
Well that’s all folks but you should definitely pick this up is you get a chance because it is a brilliantly written novel that anyone can enjoy.

Leave a Reply

