Alice by Christina Henry

image

Alice by Christina Henry

Summary from Goodreads
In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo with the screams of the poor souls inside.In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blonde, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place-just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood…Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago.Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful.And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the rabbit waits for his Alice.

My Review
Where do I even began? I’m a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland and retellings, so when I saw this I just knew I had to read this story. Now as you can tell by the slightly creepy but beautiful cover, and the summary this isn’t as sweet fluffy retailing. This version is so much more, it is creepy, disturbing and dark but I loved every moment of it. I want to write a review without giving too much away because I believe that to truly appreciate this story you have to read it for you self.  This story has to be one of the best retellings I have read so far. This takes a classic and turns it on its head by adding darkness and horror but my goodness it was done well. The dark twist that was set on this was so well written. Christina Henryโ€™s writing was so well done that I didn’t have a choice but to fall down the dark rabbit hole to join Alice and Hatcher. The character building was top class, I loved the disturbing twist on classic characters and enjoyed that your head was spun in many directions. I would recommend this to fans of horror and retellings. I’m a little sad that I have finished the story however there is going to be a sequel!! It comes out in July and I am beyond excited for it.

Special News!!
Author of Alice, Christina Henry with be doing the first ever guest blog post on my blog. I am so excited for this. It will be happening on the 24th of June so make sure you tune in for that one, it is going to be amazing.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher Titan Books in exchange for a honest review.

8 thoughts on “Alice by Christina Henry

  1. OMG. This is exciting. I skipped your review paragraph in case there are spoilers. I am a huge Alice fan and this book is on my nightstand to be read shortly. I can’t wait for Henry’s guest blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

