Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Title – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Author – J.K Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.

Genre – Young Adult Fantasy

Publisher/ Published – Little Brown books/ 31st July 2016

Pages – 343

Summary from Goodreads 

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places


My Review 

5 out of 5 Stars 

I took a while to start and finish this because I was worried I wasn’t going to enjoy it, plus finishing it meant it was over once again. However once I started reading it I realised I loved it and I loved the characters. There has been quite mixed reviews about this however I really tried to avoid reading any so I could go into it with an open mind. In my opinion I really enjoyed it and found it a great story. The play format didn’t bother me in the slightest or take away from the story. The Cursed Child was a lot different from the Harry Potter series and you could tell J.K Rowling wasn’t the only one involved. The Cursed Child is different in its own right but I still loved it all the same as a follow on from the Harry Potter series. 

Now on to Albus, I adored his character and connected well with him. I did feel sorry for him at parts of the story. I liked reading how his character developed and how his friendship with Scorpius grew throughout the play. Scorpius was another great character who I adored as much as Albus. 

There was once scene in particular with a cetrain character that got me quite emotional but I don’t want to go into much detail because I want this to be spoiler free.

Over all this was a great story and I loved going back into Harry Potter’s world because The Harry Potter Series has been a big part of my life and I will always cherish the series…… Always.

As a final note I just want to say that I wish the ending between Albus and Scorpius was different but once again I’m not releasing spoilers but if you have already read the play you will understand what I mean. 

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Leave a Reply

