Red’s Untold Tale 

Title – Red’s Untold Tale.

Author – Wendy Toliver.

Genre – Young Adult Fantasy Retellings. 

Publisher/ Published – Titan books/ 1st July 2016

Pages – 416

Summary from Goodreads 

Red is 16 and lives with Granny in a cottage in the village, where boarding up the house and hiding during Wolfstime is a means of survival. Red helps Granny with Granny’s baked good business, catering as well as door-to-door sales. 

Red has a constant internal battle between her wild side and her strict, overprotective upbringing, and the issue of “control“ as she discovers she has a hot temper when the “mean girls” push her too far. (“When we learn to control it, we needn’t fear it,” Rumpelstiltskin says in the series.) She has flashbacks to her 13th year when she received her cloak and the nickname “Red.”

She is plagued by nightmares that she doesn’t understand, but the Once Upon a Time fans will recognize them as her wolf side coming out. 

Red balances the difficult times with Granny at home and the girls at school with an emerging and satisfying romance with Peter.

My thoughts

5 out of 5 stars.

So many of you lovely people reading this won’t know that I am a huge fan of Once Upon a Time. It is one of my favourite TV programs and I love the whole retake on fairytales. When I was asked if I wanted to review this book by the publishers I couldn’t turn it down. Here we had a book based of my favourite TV series and one of my favourite characters from said TV series. I loved Red/Ruby’s character in OUAT she is sassy and feisty and a really enjoyable character. Anyway to the book, this novel written by Wendy Toliver tells the tale of Red when she was sixteen during one particular Wolfstime. I’m going to try and write this without any spoileus because to really enjoy this you have to read it yourselves. Red was a very likeable character and I enjoyed her development through the story and the trials and tribulations she had to go through. Such as trying to help her Granny, selling the baked goods also trying to deal with her feelings for the wonderful Peter. I ship Red and Peter and I think the make a cute couple. I didn’t like the girls that were bullying Red, they were so nasty and petty towards Red. I suppose they were well written as you are supposed to not like them. I also enjoyed the part where Red decides to do something to help her Granny. (Again not going into too much detail). 

Overall thus was a very enjoyable story that helped fill the hole that has been left whilst OUAT has been off our screens. If you are a fan of Once Upon a Time I highly recommend that you go out and read this book because it is a very good read.

Disclaimer – I recieved a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Red’s Untold Tale 

Leave a Reply

