Peter Pan Review

Peter Pan

(Not the edition I own, don’t have my copy with me but I am hoping to get this very soon)

Title – Peter Pan

Author – J.M. Barrie

Summary from Goodreads

One starry night, Peter Pan and Tinker Bell lead the three Darling children over the rooftops of London and away to Neverland – the island where lost boys play, mermaids splash and fairies make mischief. But a villainous-looking gang of pirates lurk in the docks, led by the terrifying Captain James Hook. Magic and excitement are in the air, but if Captain Hook has his way, before long, someone will be walking the plank and swimming with the crocodiles…

 

My Thoughts.

5 out of 5 stars.

Peter pan has been a favourite of mines since I can remember. There is just something about Peter that draws you in and refuses to let you go. When I was younger Tinkerbell was one of my favourite characters and she still is my favourite fairy. (Yes I do believe in Fairies. Do you??) Reading Peter Pan again as an adult I realise there is more to the story than the childhood version I grew up with. I understand the story a lot more and it is a wonderful piece of writing.

Reading Peter Pan was really nolstalgic and I was swept away with Peter, Tink and the Darlings as the flew to the Neverland. The Neverland can be perceived differently to each person. To me reading about The Neverland takes me to a place where I feel safe. I love the concept of The Neverland and find that it is a magical pace where the Darling children get to live out their dreams. I do feel sad for Mrs and Mr Darling when they think that the children will be lost and I guess I feel annoyed at Peter for taking the children away from their family. However at the same time I understand why Peter does what he does.

Characters –

Peter Pan – I love Peter Pan, he is fun and full of mischief.

Tinkerbell – Tink is a sassy character and I have always had a soft spot for Tinkerbell, like I said she is my favourite fairy ever.

Wendy – Wendy is a lovely child who holds on to her childhood as much as she can and I really enjoyed her character.

John and Michael – John and Michael are Wendy’s little brothers and they add an extra feature to the story.

Mr and Mrs Darling – The lovable parents of the Darling children.

Nana – Nana is the nurse of the children who just so happens to be a dog. However Nana is very intelligent and I love her in the story and feels she adds slight comedy to the story.

The Lost Boys – I love the Lost boys they are all adorable and add a little extra level to the story in their own way.

Favourite Quotes –

“To die will be an awfully big adventure.”

“All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.”

“Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.”

“Second star to the right and straight on ’til morning. ”

“When the first baby laughed for the first time, its laugh broke into a thousand pieces, and they all went skipping about, and that was the beginning of fairies.”

“Never is an awfully long time.”

“All children, except one, grow up.”

If I could quote the whole book I would.

There you go guys another review. What did you think??

Happy Reading

Lauren

 

 

Leave a Reply

