Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

Victoria: From the creator of the ITV television series

Title – Victoria

Author – Daisy Goodwin

Publisher/Published – Review/October 2016

Genre – Historical Fiction

Summary from Goodreads

Early one morning, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria is roused from bed with the news that her uncle William IV has died and she is now Queen of England. The men who run the country have doubts about whether this sheltered young woman, who stands less than five feet tall, can rule the greatest nation in the world. Surely she must rely on her mother and her venal advisor, Sir John Conroy, or her uncle, the Duke of Cumberland, who are all too eager to relieve her of the burdens of power.

The young queen is no puppet, however. She has very definite ideas about the kind of queen she wants to be, and the first thing is to choose her name.

Everyone keeps saying she is destined to marry her first cousin, Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha, but Victoria found him dull and priggish when they met three years ago. She is quite happy being queen with the help of her prime minister, Lord Melbourne, who may be old enough to be her father but is the first person to take her seriously.

My Thoughts

Five out of Five Stars

Before I knew this book existed I had watched the fantastic TV series which was written by the author of this book. I want to start by expressing how good the TV series was. It was aired on ITV and was called Victoria. Jenna Coleman’s portrayal of Queen Victoria was spectacular. She is such a talented actress and she is becoming one of my favourite actresses. The other actresses and actors did great with their portrayal of the characters. I was totally captivated with the series and didn’t want it to end. I couldn’t believe I would have to wait until 2017 for the next series. However I found out that the creator of the series had also written this book so I had to get a copy. At first I wasn’t sure if I would like it because although I love watching any programmes about history, I don’t always do well with Historical Fiction. I am so glad I picked this up because it was such a good read. It is basically the TV series in book form, when I was reading it I couldn’t help but imagine the actors and actresses from the series reading the lines. It was such a captivating read and it really has changed my mind about Historical Fiction and I am eager to read more. (Feel free to leave recommendations in the comments.) The author wrote this very well and it was interesting from start to finish. I loved that there was serious parts, humorous parts and also a few sad moments throughout the story. I highly recommend both the TV series and the book to all readers.

Favourite Quotes

  • “I do not like the name Alexandrina. From now on I wish to be known only by my second name, Victoria. Melbourne nodded. “Victoria.”
  • “They think I am still a little girl who is not capable of being a Queen.”
  • “Lord Melbourne turned to look at Victoria. “They are mistaken. I have not known you long, but I observe in you a natural dignity that cannot be learnt. To me, ma’am, you are every inch a Queen.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

