The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

The Lovely Bones

Title – The Lovely Bones

Author – Alice Sebold

Publisher/Published – Back Bay Books/October 2009

Genre – Fiction, Mystery, Young Adult and Contemporary.

Summary from Goodreads

So begins the story of Susie Salmon, who is adjusting to her new home in heaven, a place that is not at all what she expected, even as she is watching life on earth continue without her—her friends trading rumors about her disappearance, her killer trying to cover his tracks, her grief-stricken family unravelling.

Out of unspeakable tragedy and loss, The Lovely Bones succeeds, miraculously, in building a tale filled with hope, humour, suspense, even joy.

My Thoughts

Five out of Five Stars

This is another case where I watched the film before I had read the book. I remember watching the film when it first out. I was such a captivating story, it was heart-breaking but at the same time I was beautiful. Saoirse Ronan is a phenomenal actress and she played the character very well in my opinion. The film has been out for seven years and in that time I never got around to reading it. However a friend of mine sent me a copy as part of a book swap and I am so glad I read it. The book was a lot better than the film, don’t get me wrong I love movie but as always the book was better. It is hard to describe how I feel about the book with out always repeating myself, it was beautiful, captivating and heart-breaking. I was hooked from the get go of reading this. I loved the narration of Susie and it was as if she was sitting with me and telling her story. I felt so connected to her and her family than anytime something sad happened I was sad, where there was a glimmer of happiness I was happy as well. I honestly cant say enough to give this book justice. I really recommend that you guys read it because it seriously is amazing. If you have read it what are your thoughts? Leave them in the comments.

Favourite Quotes

  •  “My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.” –  Such a captivating line.
  • “Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.”  
  • “These were the lovely bones that had grown around my absence: the connections-sometimes tenuous, sometimes made at great cost, but often magnificent-that happened after I was gone. And I began to see things in a way that let me hold the world without me in it. The events that my death wrought were merely the bones of a body that would become whole at some unpredictable time in the future. The price of what I came to see as this miraculous body had been my life.”  
  • “Our only kiss was like an accident- a beautiful gasoline rainbow.”  
  • “Because horror on Earth is real and it is every day. It is like a flower or like the sun; it cannot be contained.”  
  • “There was one thing my murderer didn’t understand; he didn’t understand how much a father could love his child.”  

 

 

Leave a Reply

