The Mirror Sisters Review

The Mirror Sisters (The Mirror Sisters, #1)

Title – The Mirror Sisters

Author –  V.C Andrews

Publisher/Published – Simon and Schuster / October 2016

Genre – Young Adult, Fiction, Contemporary, Gothic, Mystery

Summary from Goodreads

From the legendary New York Times bestselling author of The Flowers in the Attic and My Sweet Audrina series comes the first book in a new series featuring identical twin sisters made to act, look, and feel truly identical by their perfectionist mother.

Alike in every way…with one dark exception.

As identical twins, their mother insists that everything about them be identical: their clothes, their toys, their friends…the number of letters in their names, Haylee Blossom Fitzgerald and Kaylee Blossom Fitzgerald. If one gets a hug, the other must, too. If one gets punished, the other must be, too.

Homeschooled at an early age, when the girls attend a real high school they find little ways to highlight the differences between them. But when Haylee runs headfirst into the dating scene, both sisters are thrust into a world their mother never prepared them for—causing one twin to pursue the ultimate independence. The one difference between the two girls may spell the difference between life…and a fate worse than death.

My Thoughts

May Contain Small Spoilers!

5 out of 5 Stars.

Well this is my first time reading a book by this author but I must say I am now eager to read more of her work. I was recommended this book by my wonderful friend Brooklyn and I am so glad she recommended this to me, easily the best book I read this year so far. This book had a really strong plot through out and I was hooked. I was so drawn into the book I hated when I had to put it down to do other things.  The story follows identical twins Haylee and Kaylee. Their mum is adamant that the girls are absolutely identical, from their name having the same number of letter. They have to dress the same, their hair has to be the same and if one hurts the mum expects the other to hurt. I did feel sorry for the twins because the don’t have the chance to find themselves and experience their own thing because of their mum. It does affect the girls and I really do feel sorry for them. The story is told from Kaylee’s point of view and I did grow to like her more than Haylee. Things happen through out the book that makes me like Kaylee’s character more than her sister. I won’t go into details because I don’t want to spoil it.

I was fully hooked into this story by the time the ending came and I was so shocked by the ending. All I could think was that it wasn’t happening and it wasn’t possibly true. The Fact that Haylee could do that to her own sister (I won’t say what happens) but it made me want to slap her. Kaylee wasn’t to blame for the way the mum treated the girls so she should have never have done that to her own sister. I would never in 100 years do that to my sister no matter how much I resented her. The ending was so shocking and made me so mad. I really cannot wait for the next book so I can see what happens and how this story plays out.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Mirror Sisters Review

Leave a Reply

