Broken Glass by V.C Andrews Review

Broken Glass (The Mirror Sisters, #2)

Title – Broken Glass

Author – V.C Andrews

Publisher / Published – Gallery Books / February 2017

Genre – Fiction, Young Adult, Thriller

Pages – 432

Series – The Mirror Sisters – Book Two

Summary From Goodreads

Haylee and Kaylee Fitzgerald are twin sisters who have been forced to be identical in every way by their domineering mother. She insists they wear the same clothes, eat the same food, get the same grades, and have all the same friends.

But both are growing weary of her obsession with their similarities, so when they finally attend high school, they find little ways to highlight their independence. The transition isn’t as easy as expected, however, and soon both sisters are thrust into a world that their mother never prepared them for—a world with far more dangerous consequences than just upsetting Mother.

My Thoughts

5 out of 5 Stars

Well after the events of book one I knew I just had to get my hands on book two. So I reserved it at the library as soon as they ordered it and I managed to check it out on the 31st of March 2017. I was nervous to read book two after what happened in book one. I was considering waiting on reading it but I am so glad I read it as soon as I got it. I managed to read this book over two days but could have quite happily read it in one sitting.

As I write this review I will do my best not to reveal any spoilers for this book and book one. So I loved the story and the plot, it was heart wrenching at times and there were times I got really angry with one of the characters and wanted to fling the book away. But over all it was a gripping story that I couldn’t put down and when I did put it down all I could think about was what would happen next. I really didn’t like the twins mother but I did feel sorry for her a bit in this book with what she had to go through. I don’t agree with some of the things she did and the way she treated the girls but I still empathised with her in this story.

Now on to the twins. First Haylee. Hmm well lets just say I absolutely despise her. She is a manipulative liar and there was so many times through out the book where I was blind sided by her evilness and they way she could manipulate the situation to her advantage. I seriously wanted to slap some sense into her at times I mean How could she do that to her sister!! I will leave it there about Haylee because I could rant all day about her.

Now on to Kaylee, she is by far my favourite character. I loved her and felt connected to her the whole way through the book. I was rooting for her and every time she tried things I can’t say what though. I felt sad when she did and when she felt hope I felt it too. She was so easy to feel connected too and I found her kindness at the end amazing. Again not going into detail.

Overall this was a fast paced read, that I devoured and I cannot wait for book three to come out.

Leave a Reply

