The Body in the Marsh Blog Tour

Hey guys, I have an exciting post for you. I am taking part in a blog tour for the Body in the Marsh by Nick Louth. It starts today and I have a guest post by the author that will be in this post. I must say this book looks amazing and I will definitely be picking it up at some point as I am really loving thrillers at the moment. Anyway on to the post!!

Book Spotlight 

Title: The Body in the Marsh

Author Name: Nick Louth

Previous Books (if applicable): Bite, Heatbreaker, Mirror Mirror

Genre: Crime, Police Procedutal

Release Date: 25th September 2017

Publisher: Canelo

Cover Image: 

Book Blurb: When a woman goes missing, it gets personal for DCI Craig Gillard. But he could never imagine what happens next. 

Criminologist Martin Knight lives a gilded life and is a thorn in the side of the police. But then his wife Liz goes missing. There is no good explanation and no sign of Martin… 

To make things worse, Liz is the ex-girlfriend of DCI Craig Gillard who is drawn into the investigation. Is it just a missing person or something worse? And what relevance do the events around the shocking Girl F case, so taken up by Knight, have to do with the present? The truth is darker than you could ever have imagined.

Utterly gripping and full of twists, this is a compulsive thriller from master Nick Louth for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Carole Wyer.

Links to books :

Amazon UK

Kobo UK

Google Books UK 

Apple Books UK

Goodreads

Author Bio: Nick Louth is a best-selling thriller writer, award-winning financial journalist and an  investment commentator. A 1979 graduate of the London School of Economics, he went on to become a Reuters foreign correspondent in 1987. It was an experience at a medical conference in Amsterdam in 1992, while working for Reuters, that gave him the inspiration for Bite, which was self-published in 2007 and went on to become the UK No. 1 Kindle best-seller for several weeks in 2014 before being snapped up by Sphere. It has sold a third of a million copies, and been translated into six languages. The terrorism thriller Heartbreaker was published in June 2014 and received critical acclaim from Amazon readers, with a 4.6 out of 5 stars on over 100 reviews. Mirror Mirror, subtitled ‘When evil and beauty collide’ was published in June 2016. The Body in the Marsh, a crime thriller, is being published by Canelo in September 2017. Freelance since 1998, he has been a regular contributor to the Financial Times, Investors Chronicle and Money Observer, and has published seven other books. Nick Louth is married and lives in Lincolnshire.

Author Social Media Links: 

Website: http://www.nicklouth.com/

Twitter: @NickLouthAuthor

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/Nick.Louth.Books/
Authors Guest Post:

The inspiration for the Body in the Marsh 

The Body in the Marsh is my first crime thriller. Up until now, my fiction has fallen into the genre of action thrillers. Given that there is lots of illegal activity in any kind of thriller, the distinction can in some respects be subtle. But there is one obvious difference, and that is that in almost all cases in a police procedural, the protagonist, our hero or heroine, is going to be either in the police or somewhat connected to the forces of Law and Order, perhaps a private eye, or a forensic scientist. The reader is generally peering over this trusted shoulder as they poke their way through some kind of crime scene. 

You don’t get too many unreliable narrators in this genre. And though there may be bent coppers or untrustworthy individuals operating beneath the cloak of justice, you are almost always in safe hands with the protagonist themself. Their shortcomings will usually be outside the job – and we all know how clichéd some can be: alcoholics, broken marriages, drug abusers, or those who are simply cold hearted. 

However, it is also self-evident that the power of a thriller is fortified by bringing an emotional connection between the protagonist and someone else involved in the plot. Traditionally, the love interest of the detective has been another officer, or sometimes a witness. But when the victim of a murder is someone the detective has been in love with, you get a very different and intense kind of connection, and perhaps a reason why the officer might step a little over the boundary of the line of duty. That’s what it means when they say – This time it’s personal.

Advertisements