A Demon in Silver by R.S Ford Blog Tour

Hey guys so I have the honour of being part of the blog tour for A Demon in Silver by R.S Ford. This book looks amazing, I mean that cover! It also sounds amazing and it’s definitely high on my TBR.

I have an exclusive excerpt to share with you and I’m so excited to let you all read it. Details about the book first and then the excerpt is after.

Title – A Demon in Silver

Author – R.S Ford

Publisher/Published – Titan Books / 12th June 2018

Genre – Fantasy

Series – War of the Archons #1

Summary from Goodreads

A new stunning epic fantasy for readers of Brandon Sanderson, Michael J. Sullivan and Brian Staveley.

In a world where magic has disappeared, rival nations vie for power in a continent devastated by war.

When a young farm girl, Livia, demonstrates magical powers for the first time in a century there are many across the land that will kill to obtain her power.

The Duke of Gothelm’s tallymen, the blood-soaked Qeltine Brotherhood, and cynical mercenary Josten Cade: all are searching for Livia and the power she wields.

But Livia finds that guardians can come from the most unlikely places… and that the old gods are returning to a world they abandoned.

Exclusive Excerpt

The oceans had barely ceased to boil, the mountains just risen to splay their jagged fingers to the sky, when the hundred tribes of men fell upon one another. They came from the skies on wings of threaded fury, crawled from the ground bringing all the darkness of the pit, dragged themselves from the sea with gnarled and barnacled hate. For ten thousand years did they do battle, until their blood and tears ran in an endless river. Until the names of the tribes and their wrathful kings were forgotten.
When the skies had turned a perpetual grey from the funeral pyres, and the ground was blackened with rot, did the elders meet on the Mountain of Gaiessa. For twenty days and nights did they parlay. Through blazing sun and freezing dark. In rain and hail and wind. But none would relent, for an accord had to be met lest the future of man be trapped in an endless cycle of woe.
And on that twentieth night did the elders settle on a pact: that they would harness all their sorcery and channel it to a single purpose. That they would take all the aspects of man that led him to war and seal them away so that there could be healing across all the nations of the world.
Every tribe gathered to erect the eleven dolmens. Men from all continents and across the churning seas. Each vast stone was the span of thirty horses and stood as tall as a mountain, yet by their colossal labours the great circle was finally erected.
And for a year and a day the elders of each tribe stood in vigil, imbuing their power into the stones, turning them into vessels that might hold every facet of man that had driven him to an everlasting state of conflict. Then did they fill the stones with all the elements of life. The flesh; fire, water, blood and bone. The desire; pride, lust, vengeance, honour, wrath. Then one vast stone they filled with wisdom and another with sin.
As the eleven dolmens began to consume these energies a twelfth grew at their centre. A stone of union. A stone of peace.
Across the lands and oceans an era of harmony settled. Suffering ended, subsumed by a period of culture and education. Vast cities were built and sciences developed. Knowledge and philosophy were spread across all nations during a time of peace.
But it was not to last.
As the elders had poured into the standing stones all the facets of man’s warlike nature, so had they stirred all his malice and spite and hate. And when the dolmen of peace had risen from the ground so another, darker obelisk had begun to grow beneath the earth. This malevolent seed hid itself away, watching, waiting. It grew, feeding, infecting the hearts of men, until it could wait no longer and after ten thousand years it emerged.
For the first time in an age, malcontent and discord were sown throughout the realms of men. Brother once more turned on brother as jealousy and avarice consumed harmony and charity.
The vast shrines created in a time of majesty were torn asunder, cities reduced to ash until no more monuments remained. Only the twelve dolmens stood as testament to an age where war was unknown. And so, the ravenous populace, twisted by a nameless evil, turned its attention to them.
A swarm of warped souls stormed the mountaintop on which stood the dolmens. Armies that had once battled one another united in their hatred of the ancient stones, bent on reducing them to rubble. One by one they were brought down, and as each toppled the power held within was unleashed once more. But as the aeons had passed this power had become quickened. Had become deified. And when it was released, each dolmen claimed a human avatar for its own – each taking one of those wicked children come to strike it down and making it one with its own purpose.
These children of Gaiessa vowed never again to be bound. Never would they be locked away from the worlds of men. And a game of supremacy began that would never end… and mankind would play as its pawns.

There you have it guys. I’m so excited for this series, it looks like an epic read and I will be reading it asap and reviewing it on here for you all.

Have an Epic Day !

Advertisements

May Wrap Up 2018

Hey guys, can you believe it’s the end of May already. I can’t believe how quickly this month has gone. This year is simply flying by. So I read seven books this month which seems to be my average at the moment as out of five months I’ve read 7 books for three of them. Anyway onto the books.

  • Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone illustrated version by J.K Rowling and Illustrated by Jim Kay. – 245 pages – 5 Stars.
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets illustrated version by J.K Rowling and Illustrated by Jim Kay – 272 pages – 5 Stars.
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban illustrated version by J.K Rowling and Illustrated by Jim Kay – 325 pages – 5 Stars.
  • The Mermaid by Christina Henry – 324 pages – 5 Stars.
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – 438 pages – 5 Stars.
  • The Jewel by Amy Ewing- 373 pages – 4 Stars.
  • The Woods are Dark by Richard Leymon – 247 pages – 3 Stars.

There you go, my May wrap up. How did your May reading go?